2017 Offshore Achievement Award winners announced

An audience of almost 500 industry professionals came together last night (23 March) to recognise innovation, collaboration and exceptional performance within the UK offshore energy sector.

The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section revealed twelve companies and individuals as winners at the 2017 Offshore Achievement Awards, a night which culminated in Oonagh Werngren being presented with the accolade for Significant Contribution.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

Why? Free to subscribe, no paywall, daily business news digest.

Other winners included JDR Cable Systems, which collected two awards for Export Achievement and Great Large Company, whilst Enpro Subsea was named Great Small Company.

Individually, Marianne McKevitt of BP received the Young Professional award, whilst Sam Lisney of Petrofac EPS West was named winner of the Above & Beyond category.

Further companies completing the list of winners included M-FLOW Technologies, Delphian Ballistics, Cape Plc, Exnics, TAQA, and Maersk Oil, Amec Foster Wheeler and Bilfinger Salamis for a collaborative contracting strategy.

Ian Phillips, chairman of award organisers SPE Aberdeen said: “Once again, the finalists and winners of this year’s Offshore Achievement Awards have showcased the important work that continues to take place in our industry.

“In the first few months of 2017, we have seen improved prospects for the UKCS which has in turn created a slightly more positive sentiment. It is crucial that we harness and use this enthusiasm to continue collaborating, innovating, creating efficiencies and developing best practice.

“The standard of entries this year was both inspiring and encouraging, and presented the judges with an extremely tough job when it came to selecting the winners. SPE Aberdeen and the OAA sponsors would like to congratulate all of the winners, each of whom impressed us with their ambition and passion for their work.”

Significant Contribution winner Oonagh Werngren was recognised for work including her former role as operations director at Oil & Gas UK, where she was responsible for establishing a number of pan-industry projects to increase exploration and production in the UKCS. She was also previously president of the PESGB, one of only two women to hold the position in over 50 years, and has held non-executive director roles for OGIC (the Oil and Gas Innovation Centre) and ITF (the Industry Technology Facilitator), as well as The Girls’ Network. In 2011, Oonagh was awarded an MBE for services to the oil and gas industry.

Of her Offshore Achievement Award win, Oonagh said: “To receive the news that I was the recipient of this year’s Significant Contribution award was extremely exciting, and I’m honoured to be recognised by my peers within the UK offshore industry.

“I’ve been involved in a number of major industry projects during the last four decades, and would like to express deep gratitude to all the colleagues I have worked with during this time. Many of these people have been a great inspiration and a privilege to work alongside, in particular the young analysts, engineers and geologists who are destined to become the next generation’s leaders.

“I am also inspired by the recent activities to acquire and release new seismic data which will contribute significantly to our geological knowledge of the remaining North Sea resources. It is heartening that exploration and production companies are showing signs of growing optimism and, providing fresh investment comes into the basin and costs are kept under control, there are good reasons to believe that confidence is slowly returning to the sector.”

Donald Taylor, acting managing director for TAQA Europe said: “Once again the Offshore Achievement Awards has been a great showcase for the strength, creativity and ambition we see in the oil and gas and renewable industries. It is encouraging to see so many companies and individuals taking the time to share their success stories. The winners demonstrate a diverse range of significant achievements, showing just how much the industry is still driving forward, finding innovative solutions and efficiencies.”

The 2017 Offshore Achievement Award winners in each category are:

Emerging Technology Awards – Sponsored by Nexen
WINNER – M-FLOW Technologies

Innovator Award – Sponsored by Oil & Gas Innovation Centre
WINNER – Delphian Ballistics

Safety Innovations Award – Sponsored by Offshore Europe Partnership
WINNER – Cape plc

Environmental Innovation Award
WINNER – Exnics

Export Achievement Award
WINNER – JDR Cable Systems Ltd

Collaboration Award – Sponsored by Marks & Clerk
WINNER – Maersk Oil/Amec Foster Wheeler/Bilfinger Salamis

Outstanding Skills Development Programme Award – Sponsored by Heriot Watt University

*As TAQA submitted an application in this category, the TAQA judges were excluded from judging this award, and left the room whilst judging took place to avoid any potential conflict of interest*

Young Professional Award – Sponsored by BP
WINNER – Marianne McKevitt, BP
HIGHLY COMMENDED – Mandy Johnstone, N-Sea

*As BP submitted an application in this category, the BP judges were excluded from judging this award, and left the room whilst judging took place to avoid any potential conflict of interest*

Above & Beyond Award
WINNER – Sam Lisney, Petrofac EPS, West
HIGHLY COMMENDED – Bob Banks, Petrofac EPS, West

Great Small Company Award – Sponsored by Wood Group
WINNER – Enpro Subsea

Great Large Company Award
WINNER – JDR Cable Systems

Significant Contribution Award – Sponsored by Aker Solutions
WINNER – Oonagh Werngren

The latest stories