6.5 C
Alba Iulia
Monday, February 24, 2020

Enpro Scoops Company of the Year at Subsea Awards

Subscribe to our newsletter

We will never spam , sell or share your details

ENPRO Subsea was crowned subsea company of the year and Dr Tony Trapp MBE was recognised for his outstanding contribution to the industry at Subsea UK’s annual awards last night (Wednesday 12th February).

The awards celebrate the achievements of companies and individuals in the UK subsea industry during Subsea Expo – Europe’s largest subsea focused exhibition and conference.

The gala dinner, organised by Subsea UK and sponsored by Boskalis, Simmons Energy, SMD, the Oil & Gas Authority (OGA) and Viper Innovations, took place at P&J Live in Aberdeen with over 550 people from the subsea industry in attendance.

Neil Gordon, chief executive of Subsea UK hosted the ceremony with guest speaker Olympic medallist and World, European and Commonwealth athletics champion, Kriss Akabusi.

Enpro Subsea won the fiercely contested Company of the Year award, which was sponsored by the OGA. Formed in 2011, Enpro maximises the ultimate recovery from subsea wells by enabling production enhancing technologies on standard hardware, while structurally reducing field development costs and delivering first oil faster.

Dr Tony Trapp, executive chairman of Osbit Limited, based in Northumberland, was honoured for his contribution to industry. Dr Trapp has a successful entrepreneurial track record. He co-founded SMD in the 1970s, launched IHC Engineering Business in the 1990s and founded Osbit in 2010 with two colleagues. Osbit designs and builds machinery to support a range of subsea, offshore wind, and oil and gas operations and last year announced significant growth in sales, profit and employee numbers.

ROVCO received the Innovation & Technology award, which was sponsored by Simmons Energy. Rovco is a global subsea services provider, employing leading R&D scientists to work alongside offshore teams to develop innovative technology to meet subsea challenges.

The Young Emerging Talent award, sponsored by SMD, was awarded to Etteke Roebroeks, global program manager remote operations of Fugro GB (North) Limited. Ms Roebroeks impressed the judges with her ambition, drive and leadership qualities.

KW Designed Solutions Limited was named Best Small Company, while the Innovation for Safety award went to TechnipFMC.

Neil Gordon, chief executive of Subsea UK commented: “The standard of entries for this year’s awards underlines the depth of leadership, talent, innovation and technology within the country’s subsea industry. We can be rightfully proud of how our industry has emerged from the challenges of recent years, and we can enter a new decade with renewed optimism about the opportunities for further diversification into and collaboration with alternative sectors and markets.

“With a continued and accelerated focus on achieving net-zero, the ingenuity of the subsea eco-system places us at the forefront of the energy transition.”


overcast clouds
1.3 ° C
2 °
0.6 °
93 %
90 %
3 °
5 °
5 °
5 °
5 °

Follow Us

Our Other Titles

New service takes off from Aberdeen Airport

AN airline today introduced a new route from Aberdeen to Norway. Passengers can now travel from Aberdeen International Airport to Haugesund with flight operator Loganair. The...

Aberdeenshire chef wins national seafood competition

AN ABERDEENSHIRE chef has been crowned the winner of a national seafood competition. Ross Cochrane, executive chef at Ballater’s The Rothesay Rooms, won the #PrideofPlate...

Aberdeen survival firm launches new training facility

AN ABERDEEN survival training company is to open a new facility. Survivex, part of the 3T Energy Group, has invested a six-figure sum into the...

Decom North Sea Awards launched

THE third annual Decommissioning Awards have been launched. The event, organised by industry body Decom North Sea, will be held in Aberdeen in May. For the...

More Articles Like This