Bowie retains Aberdeenshire seat amid ‘rough night’

Andrew Bowie MP has retained his seat

FORMER energy minister Andrew Bowie has retained his seat as West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine MP, though admitted it’s been a “rough night” for his party.

Mr Bowie, who was defending one of the most marginal seats in the country, extended his majority to over 3,400.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

Why? Free to subscribe, no paywall, daily business news digest.

After a spate of thank you messages for key people in his political career, he admitted that his party had “suffered” in what’s been a historic night.

“This has been a rough night for Conservatives up and down the United Kingdom,” he said.

“It’s obviously, for those of us that are proud of our party, proud of our record, a difficult night.

“We’re going to have to take a long, hard look at why we have received the votes we have across the country and why we suffered some of the results we have.

“I know that we will bounce back from this and continue to represent the best of this country moving forward and to provide effective opposition to the new Labour government, whom I congratulate very much on their success today.”

Results in full

  • Kate Blake (Lab): 6,397
  • Andrew Bowie (Con): 17,428
  • Brandon Innes (Reform): 3,497
  • Iris Leask (Ind): 219
  • William Linegar (Green): 1,032
  • David Neill (N/A): 56
  • Glen Reynolds (SNP): 13,987
  • Michael Turvey (Lib Dem): 6,342

The latest stories