Deadline for Aberdeen City and Shire Tourism Awards is fast approaching

Winners at the 2018 event
Winners at the 2018 event

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

The north east’s hospitality stars have just days left to shine in the spotlight as the deadline for entering the Aberdeen City and Shire Tourism Awards approaches.

The 2019 scheme – the regional final of the national Scottish Thistle Awards – closes for entries on Monday, 24 June.

Dozens of tourism businesses – as well as individuals who are helping to raise the bar on the quality of the visitor experience – have already entered, but organisers hope there will be a last-minute flurry of entries.

The annual awards, which are free to enter, aim to showcase the local tourism industry in all its forms, from hotels and campsites through to fine dining restaurants and coffee shops. Winners then go on to represent the north east at the Scottish Thistle Awards in the spring.

ACSTA chairman Stephen Gow said that previous winners of both ACSTA and the national event showed that business of all sizes were capable of being named the best in the business.

He added: “ACSTA is for everyone, from the visitor attractions operated by multi-national organisations to the bed and breakfasts run by generations of the same family. We’re not about recognising the biggest, we about recognising the best.

“Operators and individuals across the entire region are involved in some incredible work to ensure that visitors, whether here for leisure or business, have a first-rate experience from the moment they arrive to the moment they leave.

“The previous success of local award winners in the national Scottish Thistle Awards goes to show that we have the very best in the business right here on our doorstep. I would urge any business or individual who has not yet entered to take some time before Monday’s deadline to put themselves in the running.

“ACSTA is free to enter, and with only a few questions to answer, it is not an onerous process. It does not involve a lot of time or effort, but the rewards could be significant.”

There are 16 categories in this year’s awards with categories for businesses and individuals. These are:

  • Best Visitor Attraction
  • Best Hotel Experience
  • Most Hospitable B&B/Guest House
  • Best Self Catering Accommodation Experience
  • Best Eating Experience
  • Best Bar/Pub
  • Regional Ambassador
  • Best Outdoor/Adventure Experience
  • Working Together for Tourism
  • Tourism & Hospitality Hero
  • Regional Rising Star
  • Best Cultural Event or Festival
  • Best Heritage Tourism Experience
  • Innovation in Tourism
  • Best Business Event
  • Best Sporting Event

Entries can be made online at Finalists will be named in late summer, with the awards ceremony and gala dinner taking place at The Chester Hotel in Aberdeen on Friday, November 22, 2019.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Related News