Inverurie Bakery tastes success in Scottish Baker of the Year awards

Gary McAllister of The Bread Guys Bakery (centre)collecting his award from Norman Lack of Rondo (left) and Mich Turner MBE (right)
Gary McAllister of The Bread Guys Bakery (centre)collecting his award from Norman Lack of Rondo (left) and Mich Turner MBE (right)

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

The Bread Guys Bakery of Inverurie made it as a finalist in the Wholesale Baker of the Year prize at the Scottish Baker of the Year 2019 competition.

“We are delighted,” said Gary McAllister of The Bread Guys Bakery, “and we have our customers to thank as it was their votes that got us here! Taking home such a prestigious prize is a huge honour and we cannot wait to share the news with our staff and customers”

Following the votes of over 8,000 bakery customers across Scotland and a rigorous day of blind judging by 50 of the industry’s top professionals, the winners were finally announced on Saturday 8th June at a glittering awards dinner at the Crowne Plaza in Glasgow.

“This competition is hugely popular, with thousands of everyday bakery shoppers voting for their favourite products,” said Head Judge, Robert Ross.

“We received over 30,000 individual product votes for goods baked by the best bakers in Scotland. The Bread Guy Bakery can be very proud to take home a prize in such a competitive field of brilliant products.”

The Scottish Baker of the Year Competition, now in its 8th year, recognises Scotland’s best pies, scones, loaves, savoury items, morning rolls, cakes and biscuits. Business awards are also given to the best Café Bakery, Craft Bakery, Retail Bakery and Wholesale Bakery with one lucky baker being crowned Scottish Baker of the Year.

Alasdair Smith of Scottish Bakers, who organise the competition said, “We are delighted to once again be giving Scottish bakers the chance to shine and showcase their fantastic products and it has given us great delight to present awards to each and every worthy winner.”


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Related News