OGUK announces Safety Awards finalists

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

A ship’s crew with an impeccable safety record spanning 20 years and a woman whose dedication to her role as an offshore Safety Representative have each earned a spot as a finalist for this year’s Offshore Safety Awards.

18 entries have reached the shortlist across six categories covering Maritime Safety, Safety Representative of the Year, Innovation in Safety, Operational Integrity, Workforce Engagement and Sharing and Learning.

The awards – jointly organised by OGUK and Step Change in Safety with TOTAL as principal sponsor – celebrate the outstanding individuals and companies going the extra mile to ensure safe operations on the UK Continental Shelf.

Matt Abraham, Health, Safety and Environment Director with OGUK said:

“Recognising the achievements of those who have gone above and beyond to ensure safe operations is critical in our pursuit to continually improve industry’s safety performance across the North Sea. The calibre of entries we had this year was excellent and all our finalists should feel very proud of their achievements. Across all categories their case studies shine a real example on the good work going on to improve safety in our industry and I’m really looking forward to celebrating their success at the awards ceremony in August.”

Jean-Luc Guiziou, Managing Director TOTAL E&P UK Ltd said: “Total’s core value is safety and we are delighted to be supporting the Offshore Safety Awards this year. Safety is something everyone in the offshore industry in the UK believes in and these awards allow us to celebrate the best examples of how we bring that to life every day.”

The finalists across the six categories are:

Maritime Safety sponsored by Marine Safety Forum

Oleg Krushynin / Solstad &Eric WisemanSeacroft Marine Consultants
Crews of the VOS supporter ERRVVroon Offshore Services
Douglas Bain & CrewNordic American Offshore

Safety Representative of the Year sponsored by Drager

Stephanie SunleyAramark
Lee ChegwiddenApache
Ian McKnightWood Plc

Innovation in Safety sponsored by Bureau Veritas

Epic Exploration & Production Company LtdEPIC
Shell UK LtdShell UK Ltd
CNOOC International and DNV GL LimitedCNOOC International

Operational Integrity sponsored by Aker Solutions

Material Corrosion and Inspection Simplification Project  Shell UK Ltd

CNOOC International
ABB (energy industries business line -Stuart Young) ABB

Workforce Engagement sponsored by Peterson

Robert FergusonNoble Drilling
Neptune Energy UK LtdNeptune Energy
Shane GormanDiamond Offshore

Sharing and Learning sponsored by Spirit Energy

QHSE Team with Company RS & Inspection ServicesCAN Group
Brent Decommissioning ProjectShell UK Limited

The finalists will attend an interactive awards ceremony at P&J Live, Dyce on Wednesday 29 August where they will pitch their safety initiative directly to attendees, who will get the chance to cast their vote and ultimately decide on the winners of this year’s awards. 


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Related News