Prime Four tops out Scottish Property Awards

The best new commercial and public property developments in Scotland have been revealed after the second annual Scottish Property Awards was celebrated at packed out event in Edinburgh last night (Thursday).

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

Why? Free to subscribe, no paywall, daily business news digest.

Prime Four Business Park in Aberdeen, Johnstone Town Hall and the Maggie’s Centre in Airdrie were among the big winners of the awards programme which recognises new developments and regeneration projects in commercial property.

A total of 15 awards were presented including the ultimate award of the night, Scottish Property Company of the Year, won by Drum Property for their work developing Prime Four business park in year which also saw further expansion for the Aberdeen-based developer.

Clyde Gateway, the urban regeneration organisation, collected a judges’ award of merit in the same category.

Projects in Glasgow and the West of Scotland picked up many of the prizes. GHA and Anderson Bell Christie collected the best city regeneration award for Duke Street and High Street, Glasgow. Irvine collected the Town Centre regeneration award for the creation of the Bridgegate Public Realm. The Anderston Regeneration and Laurieston Living in Glasgow were both highly commended by the judging panel.
The Hillhead Community Centre in Kirkintilloch collected the award for Community Partnership of the Year and Clyde Gateway collected a judges’ award of merit, specially created to recognise their achievements in the last year.

In Edinburgh, the redevelopment of Fountainbridge, an 8.2 acre brownfield site adjacent to the Union Canal, also collected an award for Excellence in Masterplanning for EDI Group and architects 7n.

Team awards were also presented as Ryden collected the Property Agency Team of the Year and RBS Real Estate Finance won the award for Property Funding Team of The Year.

The awards are supported by the Scottish Property Federation, chair of the organisation and member of the judging panel, John Hamilton, commented;
“The Scottish Property Awards give us time to reflect on great achievements in the sector and with a strong and impressive list of finalists we can be confident that the industry is in good health. The vast array of projects and teams considered prove a large volume of emerging and established talent in the design, development and management of commercial property. Congratulations to all the winners and we hope that this provides a positive incentive to organisations, teams and people as they continue in their hard work developing property investment in Scotland.”

The awards have an important charity dimension as the event was also an important fundraiser for The Ripple Retreat, a luxury residence on Loch Venacher which will be gifted to parents of children with cancer. The project which has achieved planning permission is currently in the final stages of vital fundraising to reach its £1m target required before construction starts in June. Chair and founder of the charity, Lynne McNicoll, commented,

“We are over the moon to have the support of the Scottish Property Awards and we pass our heartfelt congratulations to all the finalists and winners together with our deepest thanks to guests and companies who gave so generously.”

The second annual event, a sell-out success when it was first staged in February 2014, was celebrated at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre in front of 525 guests.

The event was sponsored by Ryden, BRE, Bank of Scotland, Santander, the Royal Bank of Scotland the Scottish Cities Alliance and Weightmans and partnered with The Scotsman, Scottish Property Federation, G&V, Wolffe, Vision Events and CallPrint.

DJ and Panto star Grant Stott hosted alongside BBC Scotland anchor Catriona Shearer. Late night entertainment was also enjoyed as Paul Tonkinson, an award winning comedian and this year’s support act for Michael McIntyre’s arena tour, performed for guests.

The Winners in Full

Development of the Year (Commercial Buildings) sponsored by Ryden
Prime Four, Aberdeen (Drum Property Group)

Development of the Year (Public buildings) sponsored by BRE Scotland
Johnstone Town Hall, Renfrewshire (Renfrewshire Council)

Architectural Excellence Award (Public Buildings) sponsored by Wolffe
Maggie’s Centre, Airdrie, Lanarkshire (Reiach and Hall Architects) WINNER
Bannockburn Visitors Centre (Reiach and Hall Architects) HIGHLY COMMENDED

Architectural Excellence (Commercial Buildings) sponsored by Call Print
Albus, Eastgate, Bridgeton (JM Architects)

City Regeneration Project of the Year sponsored by Scottish Cities Alliance
Winner: Duke Street and High Street, Glasgow (GHA, Anderson Bell Christie and Cruden Building and Renewals)
Highly Commended: Anderston Regeneration, Glasgow (CCG) and Laurieston Living, Glasgow (Urban Union Ltd)

Town Centre Regeneration Project of the Year
Bridgegate Public, Realm Irvine, North Ayrshire (Austin-Smith Lord LLP)

Community Partnership of the Year sponsored by G+V Royal Mile Hotel
Hillhead Community Centre, Kirkintilloch (Hub West Scotland)

Best Achievement in Master Planning sponsored by the Scotsman
Fountainbridge Masterplan, Edinburgh – EDI Group Ltd (7n Architects)

Property Agency Team of the Year sponsored by Bank of Scotland

Property Funding Team of the Year sponsored by Weightmans
Winner – RBS Real Estate Finance Scotland
Highly Commended – Amber Infrastructure & The SPRUCE Fund

Deal of the Year sponsored by Santander
BAM properties for the sale of 101 Queen Street Glasgow

Outstanding Individual Contribution
Chris Stewart, Chris Stewart Group

Property Company of the Year sponsored by Royal Bank of Scotland
Winner – Drum Property Group, Aberdeen
Highly Commended – Clyde Gateway, Glasgow

The 2015 Judging Panel
Jestyn Davies, Managing Director, Murray Estates
Alasdair Humphery, Lead Director Scotland, JLL
Dan Macdonald, Chief Executive, Macdonald Estates
Nick Penny, Director, UK Investment, Savills.
Nick Scott, Head of Property, Brodies
Sarah Speirs, Director, RICS
Bob Serafini, Commercial Property Journalist
Karen Anderson, Chair Architecture and Design Scotland
Ian Gilzean, Chief Architect, Scottish Government
Lynne McNicoll, Director of Fundraising, It’s Good 2 Give (CHAIR)
Craig McLaren, Director, Royal Town Planning Institute for Scotland
Martin Callan, Managing Director of Cromdale Limited
Bill Duguid, Managing Partner, Ryden
David Littlejohn, Chair of Heads of Planning Scotland
John Hamilton, CEO of Winchburgh Developments Ltd and Chair of the Scottish Property Federation

The latest stories