Westminster gamble backfires for Ross as SNP clinch North-east seat

Scottish Conservative leader Douglas Ross

SCOTTISH Conservative leader Douglas Ross has been unseated as an MP after the SNP secured victory in Aberdeenshire North and Moray East.

Seamus Logan claimed an emotional victory this morning, winning 13,455 votes just days after a family bereavement and despite the SNP suffering major losses throughout Scotland.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

Why? Free to subscribe, no paywall, daily business news digest.

The seat was subject to controversy, with part of the area previously being held by Conservative David Duguid.

However, he was later barred from standing by party chiefs due to ill health. Mr Duguid had said he was fit enough to stand.

Mr Ross announced he would resign as party leader following the election after U-turning on his decision not to stand as an MP.

Speaking after his victory, Mr Logan paid tribute to his wife, who lost her mother just a few days ago.

“As many of you know, it has been a very difficult few days,” Mr Logan said.

“My wife lost her mother a few days ago and this afternoon we will be laying her to rest. It has been a very difficult few days for us as a family. After tonight, we just want to focus on that.

“But I am so honoured and so privileged to be selected as the MP for this constituency and I will reward your confidence in me.”

This morning, Mr Ross said he will continue as a backbench MSP at Holyrood, but said he “expects to face criticism” for that decision.

He added: “It is a historically bad night, there is no shying away from that at all and there will be a huge amount of reflection on the campaign and also clearly the last few years.

“It has been particularly difficult and there’s no denying that and whoever forms the next parliamentary party will look at the options going forward and will assess the current state of play in the Conservative party and how it rebuilds after this election result.”

Full results

  • Ian Bailey (Lib Dem): 2,782
  • Andy Brown (Labour): 3,876
  • Jo Hart (Reform): 5,562
  • Seamus Logan (SNP): 13,455
  • Douglas Ross (Conservative): 12,513

The latest stories