Entier boss named Aberdeen & Grampian Director of the Year

Peter Bruce of Entier Limited was named Aberdeen & Grampian Director of the Year at this year’s IoD Scotland Director of the Year Awards, held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Glasgow.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

Why? Free to subscribe, no paywall, daily business news digest.

Ryan Stroulger of The Parkmead Group plc was awarded the Regional Emerging Director of the Year along with the National Emerging Director of the Year award.

Of the Aberdeen and Grampian Director of the Year, the judges commented: “Peter’s leadership of Entiér Limited and his entrepreneurship have made the firm a major force in the offshore catering and hospitality industry, with excellent customer satisfaction, investment in apprenticeships and support of local charities.”

Of the Emerging Director of the Year, Ryan Stroulger, the judging panel said: “Ryan’s accomplished track record is clear evidence of delivering major impacts and benefits to his company in the turbulent oil and gas sector. Although a young chief financial officer, he has played a pivotal role in the company’s phenomenal growth and development with turnover in excess of £40m.”

The awards reflect the diversity of business life in Scotland, with categories for big business, SMEs, charities and the public sector. For the first time, sustainability and working practices are celebrated, with directors singled out for ‘employee positive’ policies.

Minister for Business, Energy and Tourism, Fergus Ewing said: “The Scottish Government remains focused on supporting business growth, and fostering a fairer and more prosperous Scotland. The Institute of Director’s Scottish Awards provide a welcome annual opportunity to celebrate the achievements of individuals and organisations – and acknowledge that it underpins job creation and growth in our economy. It is important that we recognise, learn from, and build on success. These Awards help showcase the innovation, diversity and excellence that I see regularly as I visit companies across Scotland.”

The IoD Scotland Director of the Year Awards went to:

IoD Scotland Director of the Year (over £35m turnover)

Gordon Dewar, Chief Executive, Edinburgh Airport Ltd

IoD Scotland Director of the Year (up to £35m turnover)

Ronnie Wayte, Chief Executive , Golden Charter Ltd

SCVO Third Sector Director of the Year

Frank Sweeney, Chief Executive, Cunninghame Housing Association (Ayrshire)

mclcreate Public Sector Director of the Year

Christina Potter, Principal & Chief Executive, Dundee & Angus College (Dundee)

Badenoch & Clark Female Director of the Year

Jo Macsween, Managing Director, Macsween (Edinburgh)

Director Award for a Healthy, Carer Positive Workplace

Judy Keir, Director, People & Culture, City of Glasgow College (Glasgow)

Scottish Government Director Award for Family Friendly and Flexible Working

Celia Tennant, Chief Executive, Inspiring Scotland (Edinburgh)

Edinburgh Napier University Emerging Director of the Year

Ryan Stroulger, CFO, The Parkmead Group plc (Aberdeen)

Bank of Scotland Non-Executive Director of the Year

Magnus Swanson, Chairman, Golden Charter Ltd / Law at Work Ltd / eConnect Cards Ltd / Nairn Improvement Community Enterprise / National Galleries of Scotland Foundation


In addition to the main Director categories, individual awards were made across the six regions: 


Regional Director of the Year

Regional Emerging Director of the Year

Aberdeen & Grampian Regional Director Awards

Peter Bruce, CEO, Entier Limited

Ryan Stroulger, CFO, The Parkmead Group plc

Edinburgh, Lothians & the Borders Regional Director Awards

Gordon Dewar, Chief Executive, Edinburgh Airport Ltd

Scott Whyte, Managing Director 
Watermans Accident Claims & Care

Fife & Central Scotland Regional Director Awards

Paul Miller, Director, Eden Mill Distillery & Brewery

Prof Sharon Bolton, Head of the University of Stirling Management School,  Dean of Equality and Diversity, University of Stirling

Glasgow & West of Scotland Regional Director Awards

Ronnie Wayte, Chief Executive, Golden Charter Ltd

Marion Forbes, HR Director, Mactaggart & Mickel Homes Ltd

Highlands and Islands Enterprise Regional Director Awards

Ben Wilson, Managing Director, Inverlussa Marine Services

Matt Stevenson, Managing Director, CLDB Limited

Tayside Regional Director Awards

Christina Potter, Principal & Chief Executive, Dundee & Angus College

Daniel Webster, Director, Webster Developments (Scotland) Ltd


David Watt, Executive Director of the Institute of Directors in Scotland concludes: “What all the award winners have in common is growth – whether achieved organically, or through acquisition or investment – this year’s crop of directors are living proof that businesses are leading the way in growing the economy.

“Whether leading success in turnover, delivering shareholder value, innovating and creating world class products, creating challenges and opportunities for individuals, excelling in customer service or striving to make working environments better, everything that these directors, and their peers, do has an impact on our everyday life. As such they set a fine example for those that aspire to follow in their footsteps – the future generation of Scottish directors.”

Penny Leake, Managing Director, Branching Out (part of Inverurie Academy’s YES Programme) was successful Young Enterprise Scotland (YES) Director Award



The latest stories