Finalists announced in 2023 Celebrate Aberdeen Awards

Some of the Celebrate Aberdeen Awards winners of 2022

THE FINALISTS have been announced for this year’s Celebrate Aberdeen Awards, an event which recognises and celebrates the huge contribution that the third sector makes to thousands of lives across Aberdeen City and Shire.

This year’s event, which returns for its fourth year, comprises eight award categories, the winners of which will be announced at The Chester Hotel on Saturday, October 28th. It follows the annual Celebrate Aberdeen parade which took place on Union Street at the end August.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

Why? Free to subscribe, no paywall, daily business news digest.

Thanks to the generosity and financial support of sponsors, all award category finalists and their guests, will attend the evening event for free.

Commenting on both the number and calibre of award entries received, Celebrate Aberdeen board member Susan Crighton said: “This is our fourth awards event, we have been humbled yet again by the fact we received so many applications from such a diverse range of charities and individuals, all of whom are doing amazing things.

“Celebrate Aberdeen was created to give recognition to the many wonderful people who work in, volunteer for, and support our third sector. We cannot wait to share their successes on our awards night.”

The finalists are:

Large Organisation of the Year

  • Sport Aberdeen
  • The Archie Foundation

Small Organisation of the Year

  • AberNecessities
  • Fersands and Fountain
  • SensationALL

Volunteer of the Year

  • Dave Thompson, Denis Law Legacy Trust
  • Garry Sturrock, Befriend A Child
  • Marion Douglas, Aberdeen FC Community Trust

Fundraiser of the Year

  • Cassie McGunnigle, The Archie Foundation
  • Rachel Macrae, Charlie House
  • Shelly Adams, NSPCC – Childline

Young Supporter of the Year

  • Brodie Smart, Sunrise Partnership
  • Izzy Noble, The Archie Foundation
  • Shannon Dalgarno, Aberdeen FC Community Trust

Campaign or Event of the Year

  • Archie’s Advent Calendar, The Archie Foundation
  • Murtle Market, Camphill School Aberdeen
  • Challenge Poverty Week, SHMU

Team of the Year

  • AberNecessities
  • Archway
  • Mannofield Explorer Scouts

Heart of the Community

  • Anne Bone
  • David Forbes
  • Jo Nicholas

More information about Celebrate Aberdeen can be found at

The latest stories